Stage 1

Media Studies: Journalism B

Assumed Knowledge



A level 4 or better in Year 10 Humanities or English.

Focus Capabilities

Communication, Citizenship, Personal Development, Work, Learning.

Related Subject
Subject Description

Media Studies: Journalism B will focus on Written Journalism and Photojournalism, with students working collaboratively to create, and share, their products. Through Media Studies students will develop media literacy and production skills by observing media practices, interacting with and producing media based products. Students will be assessed against their knowledge and understanding of media texts, their ability to research and analyse, their production and evaluation skills. Students will spend time interacting with social media and explore the implications of these interactions. 

Students will be assessed through a range of different tasks in a variety of differing modes (oral presentation, presentations to camera, written tasks, investigations and productions). Students develop the skills, and understandings, which will apply directly to their Year 12 Media Studies course. This subject is designed for students who have a keen interest in Journalism and the study of the media and have the ability to work both collaboratively and independently on large-scale productions. Students wishing to complete multiple media-based subjects will need to organise a meeting with the subject teacher to ascertain suitability.

Media Studies: Journalism in a 10 credit subject will draw from the following Key Areas and Assessment Types:

Key Areas:


Written Journalism


Youth Representation in the Media

Course Fees


Additional Costs


Assessment Type 1:

Media Exploration – Analyse techniques and issues in a potential range of media, including Documentaries, Written Journalism, and Photojournalism

Assessment Type 2:

Media Interaction Study – Assess your interactions with a media type, including social media and video games.

Assessment Type 3:

Product – Plan, produce and reflect on a media product (either Documentary, Written Journalism or Photojournalism).

Assessment Type 4:


Learning Area Map